Wednesday, January 09, 2013

Waiting on Wednesday (68)

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly event that is hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine 
and spotlights upcoming releases that we're eagerly anticipating. 

My pick this week:

One Dark Between
Sonia Gensler
Release date: August 2013
by Knopf Books for Young Readers

A supernatural romance about the powers that lie in the shadows of the mind, perfect for fans of Sarah Rees Brennan, Alyxandra Harvey, and Libba Bray.

At the turn of the twentieth century, Spiritualism and séances are all the rage—even in the scholarly town of Cambridge, England. While mediums dupe the grief-stricken, a group of local fringe scientists seeks to bridge the gap to the spirit world by investigating the dark corners of the human mind.

Each running from a shadowed past, Kate, Asher, and Elsie take refuge within the walls of Summerfield College. But their peace is soon shattered by the discovery of a dead body nearby. Is this the work of a flesh-and-blood villain, or is something otherworldly at play? This unlikely trio must illuminate what the scientists have not, and open a window to secrets taken to the grave—or risk joining the spirit world themselves.

There is just something about Gothic thrillers that I love! Nothing can beat the chill of a great Gothic novel. It's an old-fashioned chilling-creepy, none of that cheap made-for-Hollywood thrill we have to settle with, now. I love the atmosphere and they often completely enamor me, and THIS? Well this just sounds freaky as heck!

What are you waiting on this week?
Link me up! :)